top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegideon

One week to launch



As many of you know, I was scheduled to take a cross country bike trip in September 2020. Like so many things, the universe had a different idea. Luckily I was able to shift those plans, and after almost an extra year of training, which probably was a good thing, the journey is about to begin. My first day of riding, Wednesday, August 18th, will be a short one, just 30 miles, in Astoria, OR to touch the Pacific Ocean, get to know my fellow travel mates, and make sure everything is in order. On Thursday, August 19th the real riding begins with a route from Astoria, OR to Portland, OR.


Here are some trip details:

  • Total days: 46 (42 riding, 4 rest) (Aug 18 - Oct 2)

  • Total distance: more than 3800 mi (6100 km)

  • Total elevation gain: more than 157,000 ft (47,800 m) (that’s like climbing Mt. Everest 5.5 times)

  • Shortest day: 30 miles (day 1)

  • Longest day: 126 miles (day 24)

  • Greatest elevation gain: 8302 ft (day 4)

  • Daily average: 91 miles and 3750 ft of climbing

  • 16 days of 100+ miles

  • For those familiar with the Tour de France, this is kind of like riding it twice back-to-back (but at a slower pace).


The plan is to chronicle my journey here. I'm going to do my best, but I make no promises that I'll keep up with it on a daily basis. My primary focus will be completing the ride, eating, checking in with my family, and sleeping. However, if you're interested in basic info like route traveled, miles covered, and elevation climbed head over to my Strava account. My ride stats should upload shortly after I complete a day's ride.


101 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page