top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegideon

Day 46: North Conway, NH to Portland, ME




OMG! I made it! I freakin' conquered the US on two wheels powered only by my two legs. That was a truly amazing journey, and probably even more amazing after I've had a bit of time to process what I just experienced and accomplished.


Today's ride was fairly easy at only 75 miles. We had one rough climb that was at least 18% grade, some people said they saw 20% on their Garmin. It wasn't that long, but it had a second kick that none of us were expecting. After our legs were screaming and we thought we were done, we turned a corner and there was another wall. Other than that the ride was straightforward as we made our way through Maine to the coast. We stopped 8 miles out from our destination to regroup and then we all rode together to Fort Williams park where friends and family were waiting to celebrate as we dipped our tires in the Atlantic Ocean 46 days after dipping our tires in the Pacific Ocean. I was super lucky to have Steph, E&C, Bridie, Jay, and M all waiting for me.


It was definitely a whirlwind of a day full of all kinds of emotions. I'm incredibly proud of what I've accomplished and I'm simultaneously happy and sad that it's over. It was an insanely difficult journey. It was physically, mentally, and emotionally draining. It required discipline and sacrifice. There were days that I wanted to cry because it hurt and I wasn't sure I was going to make it. There were days I wanted to cry because I was overwhelmed by what I had just done. And then there were days I wanted to cry because it both hurt and I was proud, like when I made it up Big Horn Pass. I knew that this journey would be physically difficult, and I also knew that it would be mentally difficult, but I didn't appreciate just how important the mental aspect was going to be. In many ways the mental piece was more difficult than the physical. I also didn't anticipate all of the emotions that I'd feel. I made some really good friends, I had some good days, I had some bad days, and I learned that even when I think I've pushed as hard as I can, there is still more. There is always more! I can always dig a little bit deeper. And that is one of the big things I'll take away.


I'm incredibly glad that I chose to accomplish this goal through Trek Travel. The trip was insanely well organized and supported. The guides were amazing. They went out of their way day after day to make sure we had everything we needed and we were happy. Yes, there were a few things that weren't perfect, like when we had to make a few detours, but those things happen. The important thing is that the guides took it in stride and had us on our way in no time. Megan, Blake, Domi, Brent, and James are the best. They each brought unique personalities and skills to the trip and as a team they were awesome.


There have been so many people that supported me along the way. I greatly appreciate all those who followed along on this blog, sent supportive comments, and made donations. Knowing that there were people out there cheering me on was incredibly helpful. I also appreciate my team back at work who have handled everything so that I could check out and focus on trip. But two people deserve a very special call out.


John Cheetham, when we started working together I had no idea how to prepare for this trip, but I trusted that you did. And I'm glad that I did. Your coaching and training plan were spot on and allowed me to ride strong day after day. You went above and beyond, spending hours and hours with me tweaking my fit and gear until it was perfect. And your messages during the trip were incredibly helpful. They helped push me through some tough days and gave me confidence to push harder in some places that I might not have. I crushed that climb on the day into Rapid City because you told me I could and it was the most amazing feeling. I hope I never forget that feeling. I so appreciate all of the help and support on this very long journey.


Steph, I have no idea why you were so supportive of this trip from day one when I came to you with the crazy idea. Never once did you say no or maybe you should wait, instead it was, "yes, do it! Do it now. We can make it work." You supported me through the training, even when Covid through a wrench in the plans. You believed in me when I doubted myself. You took on more than your fair share at home and with the kids so that I could spend hours on my bike preparing. And then took on the much harder job of staying home with C&E and our crazy menagerie of animals while I spent the last 46 days focused on one task. You sent me supportive messages every single day and talked me through a few rough patches. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I don't think I will ever be able to thank you enough for not only letting me fulfill this dream, but being more than 100% supportive of it.


Dream big and go forth to make it happen!


Day 46 stats:

  • distance: 74.8 miles

  • elevation gain: 3054 ft

  • nutrition:

    • breakfast: eggs, yogurt, cream cheese danish, banana, graham crackers, NuGo protein bar

    • lunch: 2 slices of pizza

    • post-ride: Skratch crispy rice cake bar, 1 slice of pizza

    • gels: 2

    • bloks: .5

    • 26 oz skratch superfuel, 26 oz zym


I plan to put together one more post with a trip summary in the next few days.

121 views11 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page