top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegideon

Day 8: Lewiston to Kooskia




Wow! Another big day and our first official century. We were close on two previous days with 99 mile rides, but today we put in 103 miles. I took today easy because I knew we had a lot of climbing and I think that was a wise choice. The longest climb of the day was just over 14 miles. It wasn’t really steep, I think the max grade was 6%, but it went on and on. However, we were rewarded with a beautiful, long descent. And by not pushing too hard on the climbs I had enough in reserve to make a nice push over the last 25 miles to the hotel.


I meant to mention this previously. I’ve been amazed at how nice everyone has been. Maybe I’m jaded by living in the Bay Area where many people seem too busy to care about others, but along this trip people have been really nice. Lots of people stop to ask us what we’re up to and seem genuinely interested. I’ve had people happily give me a glass of milk or a stamp when I was more than happy to pay for it. I also had a trucker get out of his truck today when we were stopped for construction because he saw the fat tires on my bike and loved them (I ride 38s). He gave me a couple stickers for a bike race he organizes in Spokane and he talked to me for a few minutes while we waited. So while there have been some dark times where I’m wondering wtf I’m doing as I climb up yet another hill, there have also been some really great moments seeing the vast beauty of this country and getting to talk with random strangers (socially distanced, of course).


Sorry, only a few photos today from where we’re staying. It was a day full of wide open fields until the last 25ish miles when we turned to ride along the Clearwater River, which really was very clear water. Oh, and I crossed over Lawyers Creek twice (wish I had a photo of that sign). Tonight we’re staying at the River Dance Lodge, which is a bunch of small cabins along the river. I also noticed as I was looking back at the photos that one of them shows a little wildfire smoke, but it wasn't too noticeable while we were riding.


And when they said no cell reception or wifi, they meant it. (So you may be reading this post a few days after this all happened.)


Tomorrow is another long day of climbing. In fact, about 85 of the 91 miles are up hill. But, once we make it through tomorrow we essentially have two rest days because day 10 is a short 37 miles mostly downhill.


Day 8 stats:

  • distance: 103 miles

  • elevation gain: 6450 ft

  • nutrition:

    • breakfast: eggs, potatoes, fruit, oatmeal with brown sugar, mini scone, french toast (I had to make up for dinner, which wasn’t great for a vegetarian. I had an iceberg lettuce salad, steamed veggies, mashed potatoes, and a roll.)

    • lunch: PB&J, fruit, 1 chocolate chip cookie

    • post-ride: 1 recovery drink, 1 small coke, kate's real food chocolate cherry bar

    • gels: 3

    • bloks: 1

    • 52 oz skratch superfuel, 78 oz zym, 26 oz water

    • other: 1 small coke, fun size peanut M&Ms

Day 9 details - Kooskia to Lolo Hot Springs (Lolo is another 25 miles down the road)

  • planned distance: 91.5 miles

  • planned elevation gain: 5823 ft

37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page