top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegideon

Day 1 is in the books

Updated: Aug 19, 2021





The riding went well, but the rest of the day was a bit hectic. An easy 15 miles to the Pacific Ocean and then back to the hotel. Then a short break where I played hide and seek and a game of statues with my kids. The day ended with a social gathering, dinner, and an info session about how this is all going to work. Finally, back to the hotel for one last goodnight with my kids.


As for the riding... it has been a long time since I’ve really ridden with people. I had forgotten how awesome it is to draft off of others, especially when it is windy.


One thing I did learn during the ride was one person I will not be riding with, and not because he is a bad guy. He is just too fast! But, that’s okay. To finish this thing I have to ride my ride. He was awesome to draft off of, though, because he is about a foot taller than me. Nice, big slipstream.


Day 1 stats:

  • distance: 30

  • elevation gain: 577 ft

  • nutrition:

    • pre-ride: Kate's Real Food chocolate mint bar

    • 26 oz water

    • 0.5 serving scratch superfuel

    • post-ride: 1 recovery drink


Day 2 starts bright and early with luggage drop off and breakfast at 6am. Then at 7:30 am we head to Portland, OR.

Day 2 details:

  • planned distance: 100 miles

  • planned elevation gain: 4767

77 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page